A College Admissions Essay from William Faulkner

William_Faulkner_t607 (1)

University of Mississippi
Name: Erma Mae Rodnick
Application Period: Fall 2013
Document 5 of 9
Written Recommendation Essay From: Mr. William Faulkner
Original Text: 

ERMA MAE

[]

 I am Erma Mae and it is what is as I await for the thing that is, and now it is, and then it was, and if only you could know then you would know, you could do the thing for me which is the thing that you do and if you did it then all it would take is to have done it and you don’t even know it. The eyes of him spoke, who was my counselor, and her, with him, in the place where A-B-C wallpapers scrolled the fainting sense of pencil shavings in the day that they were wood and lumber and lead on the back of a well-worn hardworkin man who doesnt use apostrophes for either abbreviated colloquial apocopes or actual contractions, no he sure as shootin dont.

The eyes of him spoke that he had promised I would go to U of M and his force was the force of a million drowning rats’ teeth in the sacks of a thousand fed up rat-exterminators whose caries twirl decay within the flesh of vermin gums and I am Erma Mae. Her, who was with him, told me it, and it was what she told me when she told me it, and now it is what it was but it won’t be what it wasn’t and so it can only be what it has been, and when I told him, he was shocked. He learned it and then he knew. What pronouns refer to and the identity of characters being referred to are luxuries for fancy folks from town.

I am Erma Mae and I am hungry for an IHOP Rooty Tooty Fresh n Fruity and I am Erma Mae and sparrow feathers fall like snow black in the heart of the devil’s armpit hair – praise Jesus – and I am Erma Mae and rainbows glitter from the soupy broth of jewels that none can reach for and I am hungry for an IHOP Rooty Tooty Fresh n Fruity and if only you could know then you would accept me into U of M so I asked Mr. Faulkner and he is inhabiting me in a condescending narrative voice that implies my low intelligence while also implying his high intelligence even though at the same time allowing him to remain a voice of the poor South he so clearly patronizes and I am Erma Mae and what has been can be and I am hungry for an IHOP Rooty Tooty Fresh n Fruity and I am Erma Mae.

 Admissions Decision: Pending

One thought on “A College Admissions Essay from William Faulkner

Holla back, girl

